I have posted this recipe on our FaceBook page before but there are a few of you that have a FB phobia… so here it is as requested.

Firstly, I think of this as quite sweet but it is a handy, fast, no time to have breakfast bar that you can also freeze! So in other words, great for all of you that say you don’t have time for breakfast.

Secondly, I seem to have a problem sticking to a recipe (don’t think I’ve ever really done the original) so I’ll let you know some of the changes I make as I like to make it less sweet.

Here we go:

  • 250 g oats
  • 1 apple
  • 3 bananas (ripe)
  • 60 ml almond milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 65 g raisins
  • 65 g gogi berries
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp flaked almonds

 

Blend the apple and bananas.

Add almond milk, vanilla essence, cinnamon and nutmeg, blend.

Place raisin, gogi berries and almonds in a bowl and stir.

Add wet mixture and stir.

Add oats and stir thoroughly.

Form a patty on a baking tray and bake for 15 to 20 mins at 190 degrees F

Cool and then cut into portion sizes (store in the fridge or keep in the freezer).

Alterations:

I’ve never used 3 bananas, usually 2 but I do add grated carrot or beetroot or butternut or…

I use a lot more nuts; all sorts and sometimes with seeds.

I love coconut so usually put some of that in them

Use your imagination and let me know what you come up with.

Anne

Thanks go to Tracy for the original recipe.

I think pictures are helpful – so here they are:

Vitamix

ingredients

mix dry ingredients

mix thoroughly

patty

portion

 

 

